Believe The Hype: No Ripcord Recommendations

Welcome to our Believe The Hype portal. Consider this a condensed guide to the very best new music reviewed on No Ripcord. Some of these picks provide a particularly challenging listening experience, while others will appeal to the vast majority on first listen; nevertheless, we consider them all to be essential examples of great music.


While we update this page, here's a condensed list of all releases we've endorsed with the Believe the Hype tag in 2019.

Anderson.Paak - Ventura [9/10]

Bill Callahan - Shepherd in a Sheepskin [9/10]

Craig Finn - I Need a New War [9/10]

Deerhunter - Why Hasn't Everything Already Disappeared? [8/10]

Foals - Everything Not Saved Will Be Lost (Part 1) [9/10]

The Futureheads - Powers [8/10]

Helado Negro - This is How You Smile [8/10]

Lana del Rey - Norman Fucking Rockwell! [9/10]

Little Simz - GREY Area [8/10]

Matmos - Plastic Anniversary [9/10]

Oozing Wound - High Anxiety [9/10]

(Sandy) Alex G - Sugar [8/10]

Sharon Van Etten - Remind Me Tomorrow [10/10]

Sunn O))) - Life Metal [9/10]

Vivian Girls - Memory [8/10]

Weyes Blood - Titanic Rising [9/10]


Here's a condensed list of all releases we've endorsed with the Believe the Hype tag in 2017.

Big Thief - Capacity

Grandaddy - Last Place

Hey Colossus - The Guillotine

Jay Som - Everybody Works

Lorde - Melodrama

Los Campesinos! - Sick Scenes

Mount Eerie - A Crow Looked at Me

Nadine Shah - Holiday Destination

The National - Sleep Well Beast

Protomartyr - Relatives in Descent

Pumarosa - The Witch

Rolling Blackouts Coastal Fever - The French Press

Sampha - Process

(Sandy) Alex G - Rocket 


The Clientele - Music for the Age of Miracles

The xx - I See You

Wolf Alice - Visions of a Life

. . .

More releases will be added to Believe the Hype as the year progresses. Keep checking back for regular updates. For track recommendations, please visit our new Singles Blog page.