Latest Single Reviews

  • Liars - "Coins In My Caged Fist & The Grand Delusional"

    Photo: Zen Sekizawa

    After parting ways peacefully with Aaron Hemphill, Angus Andrew created Liars' eighth studio album TFCF (Theme From Crying Fountain), featuring two singles: Coins in my Caged Fist and The Grand Delusional. These singles tease a new direction for Liars with a blend of acoustic and electronic sounds,... Read more

  • Yumi Zouma - "December"

    Photo: Aaron Lee

    Let Yumi Zouma gently caress your ears with their new single December, off of their sophomore album, Willowbank.

    Willowbank is out October 6 via Cascine Records.

    ... Read more

  • The Killers - "Run for Cover"

    Photo: Anton Corbijn

    The Killers have just released a new track, Run for Cover, the second single off of their upcoming record, Wonderful Wonderful

    Wonderful Wonderful is out on September 22 via Island Records.

    ... Read more

  • Torres - "Three Futures"

    Torres, the creative nom de plume of Mackenzie Scott, has just announced the release of her upcoming third full-length, Three Futures. She's celebrating the announcement by releasing a video for the title track, which ties in with her thoughts on the album's themes: " [Three Futures] is entirely about using the body that each of us has been given as a mechanism of joy... Read more

  • The Clientele - "Lunar Days"

    London indie-rock band The Clientele are returning after an eight-year hiatus with "Lunar Days", the first single off of their upcoming LP, Music for the Age of Miracles. The stately track, which follows their habitually poetic swoon, is the first time we've heard of the trio after they briefly toured in support of the reissue of 2000's Suburban Light.... Read more

  • Chelsea Wolfe - "16 Psyche"

    Chelsea Wolfe is taking another step towards full-on metal on "16 Psyche", the savage first single off of her latest LP, Hiss Spun. It comes out on September 22 via Sargent House.

    Photo: Bill Crisafi

  • Fleet Foxes - "If You Need to, Keep Time on Me"

    American indie folk band Fleet Foxes have just released the third single off of their latest LP Crack-UpIf You Need to, Keep Time on Me, a more patient acoustic ballad that serves as a moment of calm respite to their otherwise more adventuours constitution.

    Crack-Up comes out June 16 through Nonesuch Records. The album is currently streaming in its entirety via... Read more

  • Ariel Pink - "Another Weekend"


    Oddball rock deconstructionist Ariel Pink has just released a new solo track, Another Weekend. The first we've heard of Pink since his collaboration with Weyes Blood, and his last solo outing pom pom, the gleaming new track follows the same template of his more pop-oriented singles but... Read more

  • Alvvays - "In Undertow"


    Canadian indie pop foursome Alvvays have just released "In Undertow", the first single off of their upcoming release Antisocialites. It comes out on September 8 via Polyvinyl.


    Read more
  • Merchandise - "Little Killer"

    An unwritten rule about thriving in the DIY punk and hardcore scene is that once you're in it you can't get out without suffering an involuntary expulsion from your peers if you change too much. Except that the songwriting pursuits of the Tampa, Florida act were skewed in a different direction from the start - sure, their last full-length Children of Desire was cloaked in a blanket of grey-hued reverb, but it was mostly a hindrance to the ringing, layered... Read more